Apr 22, 2024  
2010-2011 Graduate Bulletin 
2010-2011 Graduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Education

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Departments

Department Chair: Sue Jolly

Education Faculty

Professors: Hal E. Jenkins, II, Sue Jolly, Barbara Moore
Associate Professors: Twila Alpe, Richard Holden, Monica Riley
Assistant Professors: Jeanne Holland, Linda Mahoney, Lillie Smith, Royal Toy

Conceptual Framework-Graduate

  1. Teachers are committed to students and their learning.
  2. Teachers know the subjects they teach and how to teach those subjects to students.
  3. Teachers are responsible for managing and monitoring student learning.
  4. Teachers think systematically about their practice and learn from their experience.
  5. Teachers are members of learning communities.

NCATE Accreditation

All programs in education are accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). This accreditation covers initial teacher preparation programs and advanced educator preparation programs. Since many states have reciprocity agreements based on graduation from NCATE-accredited schools, graduates of NCATE-accredited institutions will generally find it easier to apply for licensure when they move out of state.

Quality Assurance Policy

All teacher education programs are covered by the Mississippi Institution of Higher Learning Quality Assurance Policy. The University warrants the quality of our graduates for a period of two years immediately following graduation. Certain guidelines do apply. Contact the College of Education and Human Sciences for more information.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Schools and Departments